27 May 2016: Finalists announced for Fieldays No.8 Wire National Art Award

Twenty-five sculptural works crafted by artists from throughout New Zealand have been selected as finalists in the Fieldays® No.8 Wire National Art Award, partnered by Waikato Museum.

The finalists’ works were selected by this year’s judge, Brett Graham from a record number of entries received for the annual award.

“This year we have attracted entries from Northland to Canterbury and there is strong representation from the Waikato, including some former winners and finalists,” says Waikato Museum Director Cherie Meecham.

“These artists have shaped No.8 wire and agriculturally-sourced materials into some very interesting forms and every year it is exciting to see new creativity and innovation.”

The 25 finalists’ works will be on display to the public in a free exhibition from 3 – 27 June 2016 at ArtsPost Galleries and Shop, part of Waikato Museum.

Brett Graham will judge the finalists’ artworks and announce the winning entries on Thursday 2 June. The overall winner will receive $7,000, and second and third place-getters will receive $1,000 and $500 respectively from the NZ National Fieldays Society™. NZ Fieldays Society President Warwick Roberts will award the Fieldays President’s Choice Award.

Launched in 1997, the No.8 Wire National Art Award, held during Fieldays each year, is renowned for the innovation and imaginative entries it attracts.

The 2016 finalists are:

  • Becca Bolscher – Auckland
  • Jenta Griffin – Warkworth
  • Brett Elliot – Auckland
  • Reginald Laurie – Kaukapakapa
  • Akky van der Velde – Leeston
  • Rebecca Rose – Auckland
  • Ben Pearce – Napier
  • William Jameson – Napier
  • Tim Elliot - Auckland
  • Jane Mortimer and Dave Sole – Hamilton
  • Asaki Kajima – Napier
  • Lynsie Austin – Kohokohu
  • Anna Gedson – Opotiki
  • Deborah Moss – Silverdale
  • Cherise Thomson – Auckland
  • Ricks Terstappen – Hastings
  • Gary Mackay – Auckland
  • William Jameson – Napier
  • Katrina Jury – Hamilton
  • Fiona Clark – Waitara
  • Jasmine Clark – Arrowtown
  • Peter and Jan Elliott – Auckland
  • Dagmar Elliott – Te Awamutu
  • Jeffin Tharayil – Hamilton
  • Eric Fritz Karshagen – Huntly